Verified

Great American Van Lines

28 Halladay Street, Jersey City, NJ 07304, USA, , USA

>> >> >> Great American Van Lines

0 people love it
2.1 / 5 from 15 reviews


About Great American Van Lines

28 Halladay Street, Jersey City, NJ 07304, USA

We Are Here

Great American Van Lines Reviews

Micaela Fontana

2020-10-17 21:30:29
Rating:

Scammers! David Carter, from http://www.good-movers.com as well as http://www.tri-statevanlines.com started the procedure of my move.

After MANY emails and telephone call where I made certain yo inform him the precise amount of points I had, as well as the size of the containers and also boxes I was gon na utilize, he assured me that I still had complimentary area left in the truck. The day of the moving came when they were almost made with filling the vehicle, the mover told me that I currently utilized all the room I required which it was gon na cost me a lot more. I recognized this was not real, I knew this was not true, I showed him my my binding relocating quote of $1650, yet he kept happening with excuses that did' t make good sense, he claimed that if I didn't pay he would certainly unload my things and leave it in the street and also I would loose my deposit, I survived on the 4th floor without any elevator, I would certainly have never ever been able to bring it all back in side (I am a 120 female) I didn't belong to live any longer and my trip was the following day. So I was forced to sign a brand-new quote for $2350 instead ... plus an additional $200 tip.

I paid a down payment of $380, then $985 on pick up day both by card, as well as $985 on distribution day by postal cash order (they requested cash money and I refused).

I tried to call David Carter but he never ever spoke with me again, never reacted to my several numerous e-mails, one go his coworkers told me David was simply a sales person and to get in touch with the actual relocating business "Mirit Great American" License Info: United States DOT # 1381471/ ICC MC # 520641.

That's the very first time I came across them and also when I recognized that David sent my things to a person else to do the moving. When I saw all the problems and reviews online and also the ones at BBB about Great American, I understood this was a rip-off, hundreds of people who have actually been in the exact same scenarios than me. When I contacted Great American, I spoke to Nathan Gold, I told him concerning the added costs as well as that I couldn't afford them, as well as he maintained informing me that I authorized the documents on the choice up day so I consented to those fees. I would not call that agreeing, I would certainly call that blackmail and also extortion, he after that told me that I was charged much more since the vehicle had to park 2 blocks from my home, which isn't real, I saw the truck parked right in front of my door, I was billed $150 in "tape", after that he informed me my boxes where bigger, the just larger boxes where the ones offered by the movers, I ran out of boxes the night prior to so I chose to purchase boxes from them considering that this was used to me, packages they made use of where significant, yet that is not my mistake and also that should not include $700 to my quote. I attempted to factor with Nathan Gold, yet he told me "you don't intend to tinker me" trying to scare me, because he still had all my items sitting in his NJ storehouse two weeks after choice up day ... There are many problems about this business online, rather much because the year 2005 up previously. Exactly how is it feasible they are still out loud to fraud people this means???? A whole lot of my boxes were broken, and some open, a great deal of costly stuff missing out on. Not just did I loose $700 however also the value of all those points.

Knot Happy

2020-09-19 20:34:15
Rating:

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. THEY WILL SCAM YOU AND HOLD YOUR ITEMS PAST THE DELIVERY TIME.I have dealt with them as well as currently I are sorry for every single moment I have to take care of handling my step. When they have your things, they do not respond. They will certainly not call you email you or upgrade you. They will not let you recognize where your things have actually been stored once they have it.

Tawana Scott

2020-06-25 20:00:58
Rating:

At 12:00 I called him back as well as he said he 'd call me back in 15 min. The vehicle driver called back and said, it's late, he's hot, and he can come tomorrow or late today. At 3:30 he called me back and also stated they weren't coming & I have 2 choices (refund or they can come another day).


At 12:00 I called him back and he stated he 'd call me back in 15 minutes. The chauffeur called back as well as stated, it's late, he's hot, and he can come tomorrow or late today. At 3:30 he called me back and also claimed they weren't coming & I have 2 options (reimbursement or they can come another day).

Tracey Doerrer

2020-06-11 01:00:21
Rating:

shady methods, $500 greater than estimated once the things were on the truck. Poor communication for delivery, delivery people did not wear masks throughout social distancing period, Had to pay before they unloaded the truck and I am missing out on a costly office chair. No one will take duty. I was provided to drive 1 hour each method to go get the chair. Client service is abysmal to state the least. Keep away from this firm. Chauffeurs and employees at both ends kept saying it isn't my fault. Chauffeur upon delivery was mad because I refuse to tip until I have every one of my items. On the phone I kept being told their documents revealed it was supplied. I highly question I will ever get my chair.

Ron May

2020-06-08 22:00:19
Rating:

We used a broker IMRG (Interstate Relocating and Relocation Team) - They would only talk with us up until they obtained their deposit. Two or three phone call to their customer solution concerning Value Great American were awful - no support whatsoever.

GA van lines appeared and also broke furniture loading into their short hall truck. Disrespectful as well as really amateur while filling. Prior to the step we discussed with IMRG as well as they claimed they went over with the moving company what pickup date was needed to have the shipment date on a particular weekend break. Well they were almost a week late (also after a number of phone calls to GA after they grabbed our furnishings.) Very discourteous, nasty language on those calls. as mentioned, phones call to IMRG were no assistance in any way.

When the furnishings lastly did show up although crammed in a TV box with quilts and also bubble cover the LED television was shattered, nearly every piece of (lately refinished - never ever used) furnishings was scraped or messed up. They truly do not care that they are moving YOUR furnishings!

Elbin in the New Orleans (South Louisiana) location is a shyster, his business Mirit G A van lines is awful to take care of.

I did not choose Mirit GA van lines the broker IMRG did. STEER CLEAR OF from Both Mirit GA van lines and also IMRG!

As others have actually stated, the estimate was concerning fifty percent what GA van lines called for after they loaded the furnishings. WE paid double what the estimate was although every product was noted on the estimate (validated the week before the action). STEER CLEAR OF!


GA van lines showed up as well as broke furniture packing into their brief hall truck. Prior to the action we talked about with IMRG as well as they claimed they talked about with the mover what pickup date was called for to have the delivery date on a details weekend break. As others have actually stated, the estimate was concerning fifty percent what GA van lines called for after they filled the furniture.

Katie Rowe

2020-05-27 21:02:24
Rating:

I set up a step through a broker. They offered me an original estimate for the relocation from MA to NM, after that adjusted once I had a better idea of what all was moving with an established price of $4 a cubic foot with a 9% fuel surcharge. The 2nd price quote was for 994 cubic feet approximately just over $4000. They forwarded the transfer to Mirit Great American who reached 1:30 when they were expected to show up between 8 as well as 10 am. in a Penske 26' rental moving vehicle. They claimed they were choosing it as much as require to off lots into a semi trailer at their storage facility in New Jersey. The supervisor kept saying that I was mosting likely to be method over my quote, though I was rather sure I was going to be close or less based upon the area the products used up in my very own place and also had removed a number of big products. After filling the truck, the foreman asserted that I was method over, and my brand-new quote was more than $10,000. We asked just how he

figured the cubic feet, and he claimed that he took the elevation of the vehicle (12' 7") by 8.5' broad as well as 26' depth. We mentioned

that is not the cubic feet of the truck box, and also that they had the front 2 feet in the box currently loaded prior to mine. He

called his boss, Oren from Merit Great American, that chewed out me and also informed me I did not understand what I was speaking about.

He urged that the truck held 1800 cubic feet, I said that did not measure up with the actual dimension of the vehicle based on

dimensions. He insisted and also said I can constantly dump the truck, however we would not return our deposit back that I had currently paid, which was greater than 2/3 of the total estimated rate. If that, I anticipated I only had concerning $2000 at the majority of left to pay. After their "new computations" of just how much cubic feet my stuff absorbed the truck, I was told I still needed to pay $4752. The owner/partner firmly insisted that I had 1150 cubic feet in the truck because he was deducting from 1800 the 8 ft at the rear of the box and a foot from the front. He only approved the 8 feet at the back because I was revealing him on face-time the dimension from my stuff to the edge of package. When it was simply over 8 feet with my tape procedure, he insisted the box was 8.5 feet high and also wide. We have images of the truck before they packed my possessions. After they left, I searched for Penske's internet site and their 26' only stands up to 1700 cubic feet. the box is noted at 25 ft 11 inches by 8 feet 1 inch by 8 feet 1 inch. We called the broker that stated they would certainly request the documentation

and also a re-assessment of the cubic feet. We also allowed them recognize that the moving companies scratched the hardware floor of the

apartment or condo and would certainly need the insurance policy information. The broker obtained back to us because he was informed by the companions at Merit that they had currently solved the trouble with us. Did not happen. He called them once again, and Nathan

He claimed that he would certainly have a review done and also asked us to send out 2 bids for insurance coverage for the floor. We have not heard back from him or Oren yet in regards to the scraped flooring.

When the moving companies got here in NM, they unloaded 900 cubic feet of space from their trailer. He firmly insisted that he moved 1250 cubic feet from the Penske vehicle to his storehouse as well as that he "ate" the additional. He stated he pays the supervisor and men by the cubic feet not the mile so either they existed to him or I was lying to him.

The moving companies at pickup took countless cigarette smoking breaks as well as demanded a suggestion. They were at my home for 6 hours, Even though everything had been loaded as I had been directed by the broker.

They battled due to the fact that the trailer was filled badly, by a person else. There was some damages to boxes (not due to the shipment guys) with multiple holes punched in or smashed, as well as scratches as well as dents as well as broken items.


They provided me an initial price quote for the relocation from MA to NM, after that adjusted once I had a better idea of what all was relocating with an established price of $4 a cubic foot with a 9% gas surcharge. After their "brand-new computations" of exactly how much cubic feet my stuff took in the truck, I was told I still had to pay $4752. The owner/partner firmly insisted that I had 1150 cubic feet in the vehicle due to the fact that he was deducting from 1800 the 8 ft at the back of the box and a foot from the front. He urged the box was 8.5 feet high and vast when it was just over 8 feet with my tape measure. He insisted that he relocated 1250 cubic feet from the Penske truck to his storage facility as well as that he "ate" the added.

Nigal Harris

2020-02-20 17:01:17
Rating:

I can truthfully state I've never ever had an extra enjoyable experience. My chauffeur was very valuable with all questions and also kept us updated through out the action. Everything was packaged very well and they cared for my items as if it were their very own. I would suggest this firm to my family as well as buddies in a heartbeat! Thanks for making my relocation simple and also tension free.

Luies Farera

2020-02-19 03:00:38
Rating:

Original text too short.

Billy Larson

2020-02-18 16:00:52
Rating:

I can not claim sufficient advantages about my experience with this company.They met us in a timely manner up in Boston, loaded us up safely, moved us to Tampa bay as well as maintained our stuff on their vehicle until the day we stated we would relocate in. They also supplied about 5:30 pm in the after noontime simply so they might deliver it on the day we required it. Extremely advise.

Grace Riley

2019-12-11 18:02:48
Rating:

This business is dishonest in every way. My things took 31/2 months to get here, instead of 4 - 6 weeks i was guaranteed. They did not address the phone when I called for an upgrade, till I obtained a buddy's phone to use a various number. The vehicle driver was completely rude and also dismissive when I specified there were boxes missing out on and also my furnishings was damaged - he stated "stuff happens". Awful experience.

Jessica

2019-12-11 18:02:28
Rating:

This has actually been the most awful consumer experience I can recall. I have 2 words: Look elsewhere. They will certainly guarantee you the world to win your service and after that belittle you when you attempt to understand why it's been 3 weeks as well as your things hasn't gotten here. Moving cross nation is difficult enough and if I needed to do my cross country step once more, it would not include American Van Lines. Pay very very close attention to to the customer care and social skills of the staff as you'll need to connect with them in the future and the last point you need is one more component of stress.

Suzanne Mark

2019-12-11 18:02:07
Rating:

This relocating firm was the most awful experience I ever before had. The expense was more than they estimated as well as my furniture arrived damaged as well as gouged. Really miserable. Not worth 1 star.

Nicole J Jackson

2019-12-11 18:01:50
Rating:

Worst relocating experience I ever had. They will certainly provide a level price and claim they won't transform it and will charge additional charges when packing. The motorists and send off staff members are extremely impolite, as if you're not spending for this service. It took virtually 2 months for me to receive my items as well as I had to frequently contact us to obtain updates because they do not upgrade you on the standing of your items. I was missing a box when it got here and likewise offered somebody else's items. They offered me a hard time regarding driving in my neighborhood as well as taking things up a two story house. The chauffeurs in each state do not connect so one will guarantee something and the various other will say they do not offer that solution (i.e. relocating huge products upstairs). If I can provide adverse stars I would. I would not advise this company to my worst opponent. Pay the added bucks for one more moving firm.

Ramesh T Venkatesan

2019-05-04 01:00:42
Rating:

Sales department will function just untill get Order from customer (you). Once they reserve order, no person will talk with you and they never problem concerning your items.

Whenever we call for our item shipment, they merely answer without feedback, extremely impolite behaviour in reply. We will obtain great deal of disappointment in their response.

They merely just uncommitted about our self regard.

If you call for missing out on things, they will certainly take their very own time for responding. They will certainly not provide products according to dedication promptly.

They will certainly likewise charge you a lot more thant what they dedicated.

Please assume 3 times before scheduling order with this packers and also movers. On total my experience, I had some disappointment with this packers as well as movers.

Eleanor Moody

2019-05-04 01:00:28
Rating:

Many outstanding action ever before! Prompt as well as courteous! Perfectly rate as well as quickly! In and also out in less then 3 hrs with a huge storage space unit right into my house! I cant state enough impressive points regarding this firm! Communication was outstanding! If I ever before need to relocate again, this is my go to! Thanks again for being for so amazing!

Do You Have Any Questions?